X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Dakota
    VET
    • Feb 2017

Organic or Not?

I was curious how many folks here buy organic foods. I noticed it being advocated on another thread.

Personally, I find it a waste of money and don't find any value in the label organic. I worked in the grocery business 11 years and saw what I believed to be a scam.

Organic crops are often encircled with non-organic crops and are the beneficiaries of the pesticides used by their neighbors. Scientifically there has never been any proof offered that organic is better or more healthful that non organic.

Let's hear your practice and your reasonings.
    The older I get the better I used to be.
  • b52
    • Oct 2006

I feel the same way. Unless you're over in Sicily where everything is locally farmed it's not really organic imo.

Comment

• Dawgpound_Hank

No way I'm paying a shitload more $$$ just for it to say organic pfftttt. IMO more importantly is to buy fresh raw veggies & fruits, lean cuts of meats, avoid processed foods which are loaded with sodium/preservatives, avoid sweets, avoid fish from China/cesspool, and gtg.

Comment

• Big B
        Banned
        • Jan 2016

Originally posted by Dawgpound_Hank
        No way I'm paying a shitload more $$$ just for it to say organic pfftttt. IMO more importantly is to buy fresh raw veggies & fruits, lean cuts of meats, avoid processed foods which are loaded with sodium/preservatives, avoid sweets, avoid fish from China/cesspool, and gtg.
        Same here. Only problem Hank is you have to trust certain labels, or "organic companies". Just bc it says it's organic, doesn't mean it's organic. We're starting our own garden next spring. We visit the butcher shop for good quality meats, and yes, for those wondering, I taste and see a big diff in these foods...

Comment

• liftsiron
          Administrator
          • Nov 2003